Government reconstitutes EAC-PM till 2021

  • Union Government reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) for a period of 2years with effect from September 26, 2019.  Bibek Debroy will continue as Chairman and Mr Ratan P.Watal will continue as the Member Secretary. These are the 2 full time members.

Key Points:

  • The strength of the EAC-PM was reduced to 4from 5, with 2 full-time members and 2 part-time members.
  • Part-Time Members:Dr Sajjid Chinoy, Indian economist at JP Morgan is the new part-time member and Ashima Goel of Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR) will continue to be the Part-Time Member.

About EAC-PM:

  • It is a non-constitutional, non-permanent and independent body constituted to give economic advice to the Government of India, specifically the Prime Minister on key economic issues like inflation, microfinance, and industrial output.
< Previous Economics Next New Economic Policy Govt Sec >