Palestinian state
Spain, Norway and Ireland formally recognised the Palestinian state.
▪ The move aims to help Israelis and Palestinians to achieve peace.
▪ The three countries said they recognised a Palestinian state based on borders established before the war in 1967, with Jerusalem as the capital of both Israel and Palestine.
About 139 countries have formally recognized the Palestinian state.
143 out of 193 members of the United Nations’ general assembly voted in favour of a Palestinian bid for full UN membership.

Next Current Affairs InternationalAffairs >