MEA included Madagascar & Comoros in Indian Ocean Region Division

  • The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) has includedMadagascar and Comoros in the Indian Ocean Region (IOR) Division.
  • The IOR division looks after India’s maritime neighbours such as Sri Lanka, Maldives, Mauritius and the Seychelles. Previously these two nations were looked after by East and South Africa Division of the MEA.
  • Madagascar and Comoros are also the members of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) and International Solar Alliance (ISA). Comoros is a member of Arab League and the Organization of Islamic Countries (OIC) and is situated on the northern tip of the strategic Mozambique Channel in the Western Indian Ocean.
< Previous History Next Places in News >