Tamil Nadu gets its first biodiversity heritage site

Tamil Nadu gets its rst biodiversity heritage site

  • Based on the recommendation of the Tamil Nadu Biodiversity Board the Tamil Nadu government issued a notification declaring Arittapatti and Meenakshipuram villages in Madurai district as the first biodiversity heritage site in the State.
  • The declaration had been made under Section 37 of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002.
  • The site comprises 139.63 hectares in Arittapatti village (in Melur taluk) and 53.58 hectares in Meenakshipuram village (Madurai East taluk).
  • Arittapatti, known for its ecological and historical signicance. It houses around 250 species of birds, including three important raptorsthe Laggar Falcon, the Shaheen Falcon and Bonelli’s Eagle. It is also home to wildlife such as the Indian pangolin, slender loris and pythons.
  • The area is surrounded by a chain of seven hillocks, or inselbergs, that serve as a watershed, charging 72 lakes, 200 natural springs and three check dams.
  • The Anaikondan tank, built during the reign of the Pandiyan kings in the 16th Century, situated in the site.
  • Arittapatti has been declared as a biodiversity heritage site to prevent the loss of biodiversity and preserve the cultural and architectural heritage of the bygone times.

Dream House’ scheme (Kanavu illam thittam) for 10 Tamil scholars and writers

  • The State government has issued orders to provide a house under the ‘Dream House’ scheme (Kanavu illam thittam) for 10 Tamil scholars and writers, who have received the Sahitya Akademi awards or Kalaignar M. Karunanidhi Classical Tamil Award or from the Central Institute of Classical Tamil.
  • Houses would be provided either in their district of residence or in a place of their choice.
  • The selected persons are:
  • G. Thilakavathi (Sahitya Akademi (SA) award, 2005)
  • Pon. Kothandaraman (Kalaignar M. Karunanidhi Classical Tamil (KMKCT) Award, 2011)
  • Su. Venkatesan (SA award, 2011)
  • P. Marudhanayagam (KMKCT award, 2013)
  • Maraimalai Ilakkuvanar(KMKCT award, 2015)
  • R. Kalaikovan (Tholkappiyar award, 2015-16)
  • S. Ramakrishnan (SA award, 2018)
  • K. Rajan (KMKCT award, 2016)
  • R.N. Joe D’Cruz (SA award, 2013)
  • S. Kalyana Sun daram (SA award, 2016).
< Previous Current Affairs Next Tamilnadu Affairs >