Lok Sabha Speaker
Om Birla was recently elected as the Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha recently.
▪ The Speaker of Lok Sabha is elected by the Lok Sabha from amongst its members.
▪ The offices of Speaker and Deputy Speaker originated in India in 1921 under the provisions of the Government of India Act of 1919.
Article 93 of the Constitution states that the Lok Sabha shall choose two members to be its Speaker and Deputy Speaker.
Frederick Whyte – First Speaker of Central Legislative Assembly (1921)
Vithalbhai J. Patel – First Indian and the first elected Speaker of the Central Legislative Assembly (1925)
▪ G.V. Mavalankar – First Speaker of Lok Sabha (1946)
New NATO Chief
▪ Mark Rutte is set to become the NATO’s Secretary General.
▪ He was formerly the Prime Minister of Netherlands.
About North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
✓ Formation – April 4, 1949
✓ Members – 32 countries
✓ Headquarters – Brussels, Belgium

Next Current Affairs History >