General Awareness and Public Administration
New Government
President Droupadi Murmu formally invited Narendra Modi to form the new government for the third consecutive term.
▪ National Democratic Alliance (NDA) elected him as its leader.
Key Highlights
▪ NDA won 293 seats out of the 543 seats.
✓ BJP – 240 seats
✓ Indian National Congress (INC) – 99 seats
✓ Samajwadi Party (SP) – 37 seats
✓ All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) – 29 seats.
▪ Majority of 272 seats is required to form the government and none of the parties got the majority of seats
▪ NDA consist of Telugu Desam Party’s (TDP) N. Chandrababu Naidu and Bihar Chief Minister and Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar.
▪ The Indore Lok Sabha constituency saw 218674 votes polled for “None Of The Above” (NOTA).
▪ The total number of women elected to Lok Sabha in this election 74 women make just 13.63% of Lok Sabha.
▪ According to Chief Election Commission, India created a world record with 64.2 crore voters, which includes 31.2 crore women voters.
▪ It is 1.5 times the voters of all G7 countries.

Next Current Affairs Political Science >

People also Read