Important Days

Important Days

Minorities Rights Day (December 18)

  • The Day is observed every year to create awareness among the people about the rights of minorities.
  • The day aims to safeguard the individual rights of the religious, ethnic, racial, or linguistic minorities in the country.
  • On December 18, 1992, the United Nations adopted the day as Minorities Rights Day.


    • The National Commission for Minorities was set up under the National Commission for Minorities Act 1992.
  • In India, six religious communities have been notified as minority communities – Muslims, Sikhs, Buddhists, Christians, Zoroastrians and Jains.

Constitutional Provisions

  • Article 30(1) – Right of all religious and linguistic minorities to establish and administer educational institutions of their choice
  • Article 30(2) – Freedom of minority-managed educational institutions from discrimination in the matter of receiving aid from the State.

VIjay Diwas (December 16)

  • December 16 is a day recognised to honour the valour of soldiers who helped India emerge triumphant over Pakistan in 1971 war.
  • The year 2022 is the 51st anniversary of the event, which led to the creation of Bangladesh.

About 1971 Indo-Pak War

  • The struggle for independence in East Pakistan started on December 3, 1971, and ended later on December 16, 1971 with the surrender of the Pakistan army.
  • On December 16, 1971 the then Major-General in the Pakistan Army, Amir Abdullah Khan Niazi, surrendered to the joint forces of Indian Army and Bangladesh’s Mukti Bahini.
  • Niazi signed the ‘Instrument of Surrender’ at Ramna Race Course in Dacca (now Dhaka, capital of Bangladesh).
  • The ‘Instrument of Surrender’ was signed and accepted by Lieutenant General Jagjit Singh Aurora, the then General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of India’s Eastern Command.
  • As a result, Bangladesh was brought on the world map, which was until then East Pakistan.
  • Bangladesh celebrates the day as ‘Bijoy Dibos’ to mark the country’s formal independence from Pakistan.

About Bangladesh

  • Capital – Dhaka
  • Currency – Taka
  • President  – Abdul Hamid
  • Prime Minister – Sheikh Hasina
< Previous Current Affairs Next History >

People also Read