Tag: 1908

UAE has been declared ‘reciprocating territory’ by India under section 44A of CPC, 1908

The Central Government has declared the United Arab Emirates (UAE) to be a “reciprocating territory”under Section 44A of Civil Procedure Code (CPC), 1908. The order was issued by the Ministry of Law and Justice. Key Points: By this the order passed by the superior Courts of UAE can now be enforced in India as if they had been passed by the local courts in India. Section 44A provides the law on the subject of execution of decrees of Courts in India by foreign Courts and vice versa. The decision is believed to help bring down the time required for executing decrees between the two countries. The other countries “reciprocating territories” are: United Kingdom, Singapore, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Trinidad & Tobago, New Zealand, the Cook Islands (including Niue) and the Trust Territories of Western Samoa, Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Aden are the some of the countries which have reciprocating territories.