Tag: 80 districts

80 districts in lockdown to contain virus spread

The central government essentially put the entire urban India on lockdown till the end of March as it ramped up efforts to curtail the spread of coronavirus. A list of 80 affected districts showed that all seven districts in Delhi as well as metro cities of Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad and Kolkata will be under lockdown. The districts where lockdown was announced are from states that include Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Punjab, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala. State governments will issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in these 80 districts with confirmed COVID-19 cases or casualties