Tag: AFSPA extended in 4 districts of Assam


AFSPA extended in 4 districts of Assam The Assam government had extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act has been extended in four districts of Assam for six more months. The AFSPA was first imposed in Assam in November 1990. About Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA), 1958 First came into effect in 1958 to deal with the uprising in the Naga. Section (3) of the AFSPA Act empowers the governor of the state or Administrator of Union territory to issue an official notification. About Assam Capital – Dispur Chief Minister - Himanta Biswa Sarma Governor - Gulab Chand Kataria Tawang Marathon – First ever high altitude marathon in the NE region. The event was held at more than 10,000ft above mean sea level. It is first-ever high-altitude marathon in the north-eastern region. It was jointly organised by the Indian Army and the Arunachal Pradesh government in consultation with and support from CYRUNS Sport LLP, a professional sports event management firm. The event comprised the Full Marathon (42.195 km), Half Marathon (21.0975 km) and 10 or 5 km races. Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu completed the 5km circuit. About Arunachal Pradesh Capital - Itanagar (Executive Branch) Chief minister - Pema Khandu Governor - Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik Setting up of National Turmeric Board, tribal university in Telangana Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced the setting up of a National Turmeric Board in Telangana and also ₹900 crore Sammakka-Sarakka Central Tribal University in Mulug. The Turmeric Board will be great boost for the farmers of the area as it will be provide necessary infrastructure support, value addition, research facility and help in exports in a professional manner About Telangana Capital – Hyderabad Formation - 2 June 2014 Chief Minister - K. Chandrashekar Rao Governor - Tamilisai Soundararajan