Tag: Tamil Nadu’s 38thdistrict

Mayiladuthurai to become Tamil Nadu’s 38thdistrict : CM

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister(CM) EdappadiPalaniswamy announced at the Legislative Assembly that Nagapattinam districtwill be bifurcated and a new district (38th) will be formed with its headquarters at Mayiladuthurai. Currently, in Tamil Nadu there are 37 districts out of which 5 districts were formed in 2019 namely; Kallakurichi was the 1stnew district to be formed in January 2019 by splitting from Villupuram. Chengalpattu and Tenkasi districts were formed in July 2019 by slicing Kanchipuram and Tirunelveli districts respectively. Tirupathur and Ranipet were formed in August 2019 by trifurcating  Vellore.